A Messy Rundown House

Water Tower

water tower next to my house

In a previous post, I wrote that my husband didn’t want to have the boy scout den meeting at our house because he found it embarrassing. Well, he could only put it off so long.  We’re hosting the meeting in two weeks.

I’m not just supposed to just clean the house up, but also fix it up. That means paint the living room, put the numbers on the mailbox, and do anything else possible in that short time on a miniscule budget.

As it turns out, one of the few people who have ever read and liked one of my posts is a wonderful woman who has a blog called A Detailed House about making your house gorgeous, mostly diy.

The first time I checked out her blog, I saw the picture of the Jane Austen-ish estate she lived in and thought “out of my league.” But when I heard that in two weeks five judgmental eight-year-olds were going to visit my house, I panicked and thought it couldn’t hurt to take a look at some of her postings. Well, even though Kearney is rich, talented, and lives in a manse, and I am unemployed, sometimes tacky, and live next to a water tower, I found her blog inspiring.  I mean, you don’t have to have a ton of money to get great ideas from some of the things she shows. In fact, in the post More Inspiration with Colorful Kitchens, the first photo shows cabinets in Brooke Shield’s kitchen that are  the exact shade of blue I was going to paint ours until my husband insisted that I just re-stain them.

Well, in the next two weeks, I resolve to read A Detailed House daily, and show  the similar things I am doing to my house in Happy Family or Bust. Watch out, Brooke Shields, you have some competition.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. col3neg
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 16:30:11

    This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that helped me. Many thanks!

    Reply

  2. ADetailedHouse
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 04:07:29

    OMG – I read your “Curlz” post then went to this! How funny!! I PANIC if my doorbell rings, which I’ve referenced many times in my blog – sheer terror – because the state of our house could look like a bomb went off!! Haha!! I’m glad you gave my blog a 2nd try!

    Reply

  3. happyfamilyorbust
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 13:23:03

    You guys are great!
    Kearney – I’m glad you didn’t mind my comparison to your Web site. I love 50 Shades of Grey – check out my response.
    col3neg – waking up and finding out my writing helped someone honestly makes my day. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

